Cursed by Jennifer L. Armentrout

21 Sep

ImageTitle: Cursed

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Publisher: Spencer Hill Press

Published: September 2012

Pages: 288

Dying sucks– and high school senior Ember McWilliams knows firsthand. After a fatal car accident, her gifted little sister brought her back. Now anything Ember touches dies. And that, well, really blows.

Ember operates on a no-touch policy with all living things–including boys. When Hayden Cromwell shows up, quoting Oscar Wilde and claiming her curse is a gift, she thinks he’s a crazed cutie. But when he tells her he can help control it, she’s more than interested. There’s just one catch: Ember has to trust Hayden’s adopted father, a man she’s sure has sinister reasons for collecting children whose abilities even weird her out.

However, she’s willing to do anything to hold her sister’s hand again. And hell, she’d also like to be able to kiss Hayden. Who wouldn’t? But when Ember learns the accident that turned her into a freak may not have been an accident at all, she’s not sure who to trust. Someone wanted her dead, and the closer she gets to the truth, the closer she is to losing not only her heart, but her life. For real this time.

My Rating: 3.5 stars

My Thoughts:

As a HUGE fan of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s series, I had extremely high expectations for this book. Lets just say, those expectations weren’t quite met. This book was fairly generic, where her others were anything but. The book started off too slow and didn’t really pick up until the middle unlike both the Covenant and Lux series that were action-packed the whole time.

I did like Ember’s character, especially her relationship with her sister, Olivia. Their relationship is difficult for Ember at times because of her gift, but her love and protectiveness of Olivia is heartwarming and you definitely believe that she would do anything for her. I also thoroughly enjoyed Ember and Hayden’s relationship, because he is just so sweet and protective of her and has such complete faith that she will be able to control her gift.

The one thing that I just couldn’t get over was that Ember took the kidnapping, relocation, and threats of being sent to some facility way too well. I mean if it were me, I would have booked it out of there the second everyone was asleep! Who cares if Olivia liked it there, she’s five! What does she know??

I also feel that this book lacked the clever and witty humor that JLA has in her other series, which is one of my favorite things about them. Now don’t get me wrong, I know I said a lot of negative things but I really did like this book because it was still a fun, entertaining read.

The bottom line is, if you expect it to be as good as JLA’s other series, you may be disappointed, but if not, then I’m sure you’ll love this book.

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

