Pure by Jennifer L. Armentrout

22 Sep

ImageTitle: Pure

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Publisher: Spencer Hill Press

Published: April 2012

Pages: 329

There is need. And then there is Fate
Being destined to become some kind of supernatural electrical outlet isn’t exactly awesome–especially when Alexandria’s “other half” is everywhere she goes. Seth’s in her training room, outside her classes, and keeps showing up in her bedroom–so not cool. Their connection does have some benefits, like staving off her nightmares of the tragic showdown with her mother, but it has no effect on what Alex feels for the forbidden, pure-blooded Aiden. Or what he will do–and sacrifice–for her.
When daimons infiltrate the Covenants and attack students, the gods send furies–lesser gods determined to eradicate any threat to the Covenants and to the gods, and that includes the Apollyon and Alex. And if that and hordes of aether-sucking monsters didn’t blow bad enough, a mysterious threat seems willing to do anything to neutralize Seth, even if that means forcing Alex into servitude or killing her.
When the gods are involved, some decisions can never, ever be undone.

My Rating: 5 stars

Dream Cast: Half-Blood Dream Cast

My Thoughts:

I foolishly thought that a book couldn’t get much better than JLA’s Half-Blood, but I was soooo wrong. This book was incredible. Amazing. Phenomenal. It has even more action, wit, and romance than Half-Blood! There wasn’t a single second of this book that I didn’t love.

I think after reading this, I can say that Alex is my favorite female character of all time. Now that she is the soon-to-be Apollyon, she has so much pressure on her from her stepfather, her uncle, Seth, Aiden, and everyone else, but she handles that pressure like no one her age ever should. She has already faced heartbreaking tragedies, and faces even more in this book, yet she stays so incredible strong and never ever gives up. She’s also a total bada** which is just plain awesome!!

Aiden. Oh Aiden, I do love you! In this book, Aiden is the same swoon-worthy, sweet, frustrating character as in Half-Blood. He will do anything for Alex, except compromise her future, meaning they can’t be together. Or at least not yet…Even though I’m clearly Team Aiden, Seth did find a little place in my heart. He was very sweet in this book and it’s obvious that he does care for Alex, so that wins him some points!

I’d like to thank Jennifer L. Armentrout for making this series because I think it’s safe to say that it is definitely one of, if not my favorite, series of all time! I am literally counting down the days until Deity is released because I have never, in my life, wanted a sequel to a book so bad!!!

If you haven’t already read this book, you should drop everything and do so. NOW!

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

