The Wild Ones by M. Leighton

7 Oct

ImageTitle: The Wild Ones

Author: M. Leighton

Publisher: CreateSpace

Published: August 2012

Pages: 330

Passion as hot as midnight in the South and love as wild as the horses they tame.

Camille “Cami” Hines is the darling daughter of the South’s champion thoroughbred breeder, Jack Hines. She has a pedigree that rivals some of her father’s best horses. Other than feeling a little suffocated at times, Cami thought she was pretty happy with her boyfriend, her life and her future.

But that was before she met Patrick Henley.

“Trick” blurs the lines between what Cami wants and what is expected of her. He’s considered the “help,” which is forbidden fruit as far as her father is concerned, not to mention that Trick would be fired if he ever laid a hand on her. And Trick needs his job. Desperately. His family depends on him.

The heart wants what the heart wants, though, and Trick and Cami are drawn to each other despite the obstacles. At least the ones they know of.

When Trick stumbles upon a note from his father, it triggers a series of revelations that could ruin what he and Cami have worked so hard to overcome. It turns out there’s more to Trick’s presence at the ranch than either of them knew, secrets that could tear them apart.

My Rating: 4 stars

My Thoughts:

I loved this book!  Everything about it! From the second they meet, Trick and Cami are drawn together. The desire between them is practically palpable! The thing is, there are quite a few obstacles standing in their way of being together, like Cami having a boyfriend….but eventually even that can’t keep them apart!

Trick and Cami are both told by Cami’s father that they are not to get involved because Trick is “the help.” Well…that doesn’t last long! And how could it?? Trick is all sorts of perfect! He is hot, sweet, (good with horses, which I just personally love!) and absolutely swoon-worthy!

On occasion, I did get frustrated with Trick and Cami because it was so completely obvious how in love they were with each other! The whole time I just wanted them to realize it and then once they do I was like “Well it took you long enough!” I mean seriously, it was pretty much love at first sight!

This book is a POV changer, which I love! I loved being able to see what both Trick and Cami were thinking. For me these kinds of books always make the story more real because I feel like I know the characters so much better. You can get in both Trick and Cami’s heads and know what they’re feeling.

I know its cliché, but I’m a girl who loves horses, so of course I have a huge soft spot for books about them. Especially when there is a hot guy in them who is practically a horse whisper! All around this was just an amazing read!

If you love a good southern romance, with horses and a hot cowboy then this is a must read!

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

