The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

14 Oct

 Title: The Sea of Tranquility

Author: Katji Millay

Publisher: Antisocialite Press LLC

Published: September 2012

Pages: 380

I live in a world without magic or miracles. A place where there are no clairvoyants or shapeshifters, no angels or superhuman boys to save you. A place where people die and music disintegrates and things suck. I am pressed so hard against the earth by the weight of reality that some days I wonder how I am still able to lift my feet to walk.

Full of rage and without a purpose, former pianist Nastya Kashnikov wants two things: to get through high school without anyone discovering her past and to make the boy who took everything from her pay.

All 17 year-old Josh Bennett wants is to build furniture and be left alone, and everyone allows it because it’s easier to pretend he doesn’t exist. When your name is synonymous with death, everyone tends to give you your space.

Everyone except Nastya, a hot mess of a girl who starts showing up and won’t go away until she’s insinuated herself into every aspect of his life. The more he gets to know her, the more of a mystery she becomes. As their relationship intensifies and the unanswered questions begin to pile up, he starts to wonder if he may ever learn the secrets she’s been hiding or if he even wants to.

The Sea of Tranquility is a slow-building, character-driven romance about a lonely boy, an emotionally fragile girl, and the miracle of second chances.

My Rating: 5+ stars!!

Dream Cast: The Sea of Tranquility Dream Cast

My Thoughts:

…I honestly don’t think I can ever write a review that will do this book justice, but I guess I will try. Sea of Tranquility was a novel that has no flaws. Nothing can be criticized about this heart-wrenching story about two people who are flawed in so many ways and who find love in each other.

Nastya is messed up. Big time. She has a whole bunch of issues and the only person she talks about them with, is herself. Josh has lost everyone and to say he’s bitter about it is an understatement. Both just want to be left alone and stay under of everyone else’s radar.  Then one night Nastya show’s up in Josh’s garage, his safe haven. Once she shows up she doesn’t leave. Every night she comes back and although they both absolutely DO NOT want to fall in love, ever, they do and it is beautiful. Heart-stopping. Breathtaking. I really don’t think there are words to describe it.

I felt more connected to the characters in this book than in any other book I have ever read. Every single emotion that Nastya and Josh felt, I felt too. The writing was brilliant and real. The book changes between both character’s POVs so you are in their heads and let me tell you, both their heads are messed up and sad and beautiful. They’re filled with “Joy, fear, frustration, longing, friendship, anger, need, despair, love, lust.”And I felt every one of these emotions right with them. It was just incredible.  And on top of this I felt my own emotions! I was frustrated about the secrets they each kept and I was sad for both of the lives that they had and I was so happy that they had each other, even if they didn’t realize it. Talk about an emotional roller coaster! Jeez!

I think there were a couple times in this book where I stopped breathing, but then the ending. Wow…just wow. I know I stopped breathing then! It wasn’t perfect, that’s an inadequate word for it but there literally is no other way that this book could have ended. When I read the last line I should have known that, that was how it was going to end. I cried! And just because it was…right.

I would like to thank Katja Millay for writing this book! It is definitely one of my favorite books of all time. It might even be my favorite. I wish every single book I read was as beautifully written and had characters that were as real as the ones in this book. One little warning about this book is that it is very slow building at first but do not, under any circumstances, give up on it! Every single sentence is worth your time and I believe that once you read this book once, you will read it again and again and again.

This story is a must read for anyone and everyone. Seriously…read this book. Now. You will not regret it.

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

