Slammed by Colleen Hoover

3 Nov

ImageTitle: Slammed

Author: Colleen Hoover

Published: January 2012

Pages: 314 (ebook)

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.
Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.
Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

My Rating: 5 stars!!

Dream Cast: Slammed Dream Cast

My Thoughts:

Okay so I’m actually writing this after I read this book for the second time and have to say I LOVED this book even more the second time and I came to the conclusion, all over again, that it is, with out a doubt, one of my favorite books of all time!

This is one the most beautiful stories I have ever read! I didn’t just enjoy this book, I learned from it. It has so many lessons in it that can apply to anyone’s life. I honestly think that this book made me a better person and the lessons I’ve taken from it, I plan on using in my life everyday. Colleen Hoover is truly an amazing author and poet. This story was so powerful and inspiring!

When Layken, “Lake”, and Will meet its pretty much love at first sight. I know that sounds lame and cliché but it is anything but! It’s incredible how real and believable their emotions were. It blew me away! When a discovery comes to light they are torn apart and it is truly devastating. It was so frustrating and sad and painful having to read through all the tension and wanting from both of them! On top of this Lake is dealing with the recent death of her father, news involving her mom, and helping with her brother and Will is raising his little brother after the death of his parents.

Both have been dealt crappy hands in life and finally they find each other, but nope life won’t let them have that either. Will is selfless, kind, loving, and perfect and Lake is strong, resilient, and caring. The love between them is unconditionally and palpable but they can’t do anything about it and it is heartbreaking. They had their ups and down that put me on an emotional roller coaster but they were both characters that I will never ever forget. Colleen Hoover made them real people with feelings, longings, and emotions.

The other characters in the book like Lake’s mom and both the brothers, Kel and Clauder, were great! They brought life to the story and they also taught me so much, especially Lake’s mom! She constantly gave Lake advice that I felt I can apply to my own life and for that I loved her too!

The slam poetry that Hoover writes into the story is incredible! I loved reading them and picturing the performances and how unbelievable they would be to actually see. The poems were beautiful and raw and inspiring! Oh and another thing that is just awesome about this book was all The Avett Brother references and quotes! I’ve been a fan of them for quite a while and LOVE their lyrics and love how they applied to this story.

The ending was AH-MAZING, but bittersweet! This may be slightly spoilerish, but I want to say that although they had unrelenting problems thrown at them the whole time, Will and Lake find a happily-ever after! I could probably go on and on and on about how much I love this book but at just say this last thing:

This is a MUST READ story for everyone!

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

