Deity by Jennifer L. Armentrout

4 Nov

ImageTitle: Deity

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Publisher: Spencer Hill Press

Published: November 2012

Pages: 360

“History is on repeat, and things didn’t go so well the last time. ”

Alexandria isn’t sure she’s going to make it to her eighteenth birthday–to her Awakening. A long-forgotten, fanatical order is out to kill her, and if the Council ever discovers what she did in the Catskills, she’s a goner… and so is Aiden.

If that’s not freaky enough, whenever Alex and Seth spend time “training”–which really is just Seth’s code word for some up-close and personal one-on-one time–she ends up with another mark of the Apollyon, which brings her one step closer to Awakening ahead of schedule. Awesome.

But as her birthday draws near, her entire world shatters with a startling revelation and she’s caught between love and Fate. One will do anything to protect her. One has been lying to her since the beginning. Once the gods have revealed themselves, unleashing their wrath, lives will be irrevocably changed… and destroyed.

Those left standing will discover if love is truly greater than Fate…

My Rating: 5 stars!!!

Dream Cast: Half-Blood Dream Cast

My Thoughts:

OH MY GOODNESS this book was so epically amazing and now that it’s over I don’t know what to do!! And seriously what the heck, how can a book end like that?!?! Anyways, that being said, this book was unbelievably awesome on every single level and it was by far the BEST book in the series!

The number of days until Alex’s Awakening is rapidly diminishing and after the events in New York, she is under constant watch. There are still those who want her dead for fear of what she will become when she Awakens, and she herself faces that fear and the unknown that is possesses. The tension and wanting between Alex and Aiden is just as bad as ever and she also begins to question her relationship with Seth, who seems to be doing everything in his power to speed along her Awakening.

The plot in this was in-cre-di-ble. It was so fast paced and just blew my mind! So many things happened that I can hardly remember them all! Minister Telly caused more problems for Alex and threatened her with his knowledge of what really happened in New York, Lucian and Seth are constantly plotting and keeping Alex in the dark, gods start popping up all over the place, and people that you think are good one second, turn around the next and stab someone in the back! I could probably go on and on about the plot but I don’t want to give anything away! Seriously though, it was crazy keeping track of everything that was happening and I LOVED every single precious second!

Now for my Aiden spiel…I didn’t think I could love him anymore but I definitely do! The other books don’t even compare to how amazingly, superbly, wonderfully perfect he was in this book! He was sweeter, kinder, hotter, more protective, braver, sexier, and more of every other awesome adjective that describes him! And Alex, well I always love Alex! She has grown up and matured a lot since Pure and doesn’t make nearly as many reckless decisions as she is normally prone to. She’s also still a total bad*** and definitely knows how to pick a guy! (WOOH TEAM AIDEN!!) The romance between them in this book was passionate and beautiful and probably my favorite part of the whole book!

Now for Seth…all I have to say about him is that he definitely solidified my vote for Team Aiden…

Another thing I loved was that we got to know more about some of the secondary characters from the other books like Leon and Marcus. Both of them have become two of my favorite characters and their parts in this story were quite pleasant surprises! ; )

The end?? All I can say is JLA how can you do that?? The end has such a HUGE cliffhanger and now I am dying to know how everything is going to turn out and right now its not looking too good…I cannot wait to read Elixir from Aiden’s POV and get in that wonderful head of his and I’m counting down he days until Apollyon comes out so I can see how this big crazy mess turns out! I know it’s lame but I hope that everyone is going to get their happy ending!

This whole series is just phenomenal and therefore Deity is an absolute must read!

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

