The Summer Garden by Paullina Simons

23 Nov

ImageTitle: The Summer garden

Author: Paullina Simons

Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks

Published: June 2011

Pages: 752

From the bestselling author of The Girl in Times Square, comes the magnificent conclusion to the saga that was set in motion when Tatiana fell in love with her Red Army officer, Alexander Belov, in wartime Leningrad in 1941.

Tatiana and Alexander have since suffered the worst the twentieth century had to offer. After years of separation, they are miraculously reunited in America, the land of their dreams. They have a beautiful son, Anthony. They have proved to each other that their love is greater than the vast evil of the world. But though they are only in their twenties, in their hearts they are old, and they are strangers. In the climate of fear and mistrust of the Cold War, dark forces are at work in the US that threaten their life and their family. Can they be happy? Or will the ghosts of yesterday reach out to blight even the destiny of their firstborn son?

Epic in scope, masterfully told, The Summer Garden is a novel of unique and devastating emotional power that spans two thirds of the twentieth century, and three continents.

My Rating: +5 stars!

My Thoughts:

I’ve finally finished The Bronze Horseman trilogy and I must say that it is a story I truly will NEVER forget! This book, The Summer Garden, was the third installment and in my opinion the most heartbreaking and, at the same time, heartwarming!

The first two books of the series focus of Tatiana and Alexander’s intense love for each other and the struggles they endure to be together. In contrast, this final book is a bout their life. Yes, they’re still insanely in love but now they have to find away to put their dark pasts behind them.

This book spans from when they are in their mid twenties until they are in their eighties and it tells of every heartbreaking, painful second of their new lives in America as well as the blissful freedom they now have to share their love. Tania, the ever loving and forgiving wife, struggles to help Alexander free himself of his past and Alexander, the ever passionate and protective husband, struggles to adjust to his new life in America with his wife and son.

The number of trials they had to endure throughout this book, tested their love and faith in each other almost to their breaking point and at one part, I honestly thought it was all over for them but of course they carried on, carrying their crosses. Also in this book, you get to see some of Tania’s past and her time in Luga that made her the incredible strong woman that she grew to be.

I really cannot pick out another book that I feel I became more attached to the characters than I did in this series and, that being said, I really wish it weren’t over! Tania was like no one else and loved Alexander and her family with every single fiber of her being. I must say that Alexander changed in this book, and I was wary at first but despite his inner struggle with himself he was still the same man whose sole purpose in life was to love Tania.

The writing in this book, as in the other, was just incredible! At times I didn’t even want to finish reading this book because I felt the pain and sorrow of Tania and Alexander that strongly. I have to say that it takes a lot to make me cry from a book or a movie but this book constantly made me cry at different parts and at one point I literally was balling my eyes out! This may be slightly spoilery, but I must say that even after all the countless painful, heartbreaking moments, and loving ones as well, Tania and Alexander were able to find their way in life together and still as passionately in love as the day that he crossed the street for her.

If you can’t tell from my reviews, I believe that this trilogy is a must read for people of all ages. Tatiana and Alexander’s story wasn’t just some silly romance but a passionate, beautiful, unforgettable story about life and love and holding on to that love for all its worth. 

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

