Opal by Jennifer L. Armentrout

11 Dec

ImageTitle: Opal

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Published: December 2012

Pages: 452

No one is like Daemon Black.

When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well… There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.

But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger… and they know it.

My Rating: 5 stars!!

Dream Cast: Lux Series Dream Cast

My Thoughts:

I just finished this book, and well…I don’t really think I’m in the right state of mind to write a review for it right now but I’ll try. First off, JLA, how can you do something like that?!? I normally leave this for the end, but I’m going to start by explaining how painful the ending of this book was; it ended in THE BIGGEST CLIFFHANGER EVER! Seriously, EVER!

That being said…it was, with out a doubt, the BEST book in this series so far! I loved every single word of this amazingly, perfect, awesome book! JLA has definitely become one of my favorite authors of all time! Her stories are addictive, heart pounding, and breathtaking! Her writing is wonderful, filled with the kind of humor and wit that I love!

Now, for the story…the last book ended with the reunion of Daemon, Dee, and Dawson. Dawson being home was bittersweet. He was back, but he had changed and he was determined to find Beth. So most of the story resolves around the whole gangs plan for getting Beth back. Unfortunately to do this, Blake (who, by the way, I HATE with a raging, fiery passion!) has to be involved, since he is the only one with information on how to get into the DODs compound.

Daemon and Katy were both awesome in this book! I loved them in the first two with their constant flirty banter and love-hate relationship but in this one they are finally together and I LOVE it! Their banter is still constantly witty and perfect but they are also sweet and loving towards each other. Daemon is even more adorable, swoon-worthy, and romantic and he melted my heart on multiple occasions! He also definitely stepped up the steam factor in his and Katy’s relationship! ; ) One thing I love about their relationship is that it is extremely believable. I know, he’s an alien and she’s a hybrid alien, but their dialogue, interactions, and especially their arguments are how real people react to each other! They’re not mushy, annoying, or unreasonable, but I have to say, they are completely perfect together!!

Dawson was a great addition to this series! He definitely was a little timid at first but as the book went on, he really grew on me! I loved his character with his shy, loving manner towards his family and also his determination to save the girl he was in love with. You didn’t see much of Dee in this book until the second half, and that’s because she and Katy have their issues after the last book, but I must say she kind of annoyed me for the first half. Ash and Andrew were the same moody characters as always.

Blake…I hate you. A lot.

The plot of this book was fast paced, as always, and action-packed! You really never know what twists JLA will write into her books to throw you for a loop! Again I need to stress how heart stopping and mind-blowingly ridiculous the cliffhanger was at the end of this book! My head is still trying to wrap around it…ugh I don’t know how I’m going to be able to wait until July!

This is a must read for anyone who’s a fan of a breathtaking, witty, action-packed, alien-packed, romance series!

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

