Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

29 Dec

ImageTitle: Hopeless

Author: Colleen Hoover

Published: December 2012

Pages: 391 (ebook)

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

My Rating: 5+ Stars!

My Dream Cast: Hopeless Dream Cast

My thoughts:

“The sky is always beautiful. Even when it’s dark or rainy or cloudy, it’s still beautiful to look at. It’s my favorite thing because I know if I ever get lost or lonely or scared, I just have to look up and it’ll be there no matter what…and I know it’ll always be beautiful.”

Colleen Hoover, THANK YOU for writing this butterflying, amazing book! It was everything that a book should be and more! The writing was impeccable, creative, and absolutely beautiful! I read the prologue and I couldn’t put this book down until I read every last sentence of it!

Sky is a broken girl with a bad reputation. She and her best friend, Six, are labeled “sluts” and “whores” for sneaking boys into the windows at night. Sky makes-out with them, but nothing more, and she does so only for the purpose of making herself feel completely numb inside. She feels nothing for any of the boys, that is, until she meets the hopeless boy, Holder. When Sky meets Holder, he is the first person to make her feel anything besides numbness. At first, she finds him kind of scary and temperamental but she soon discovers that he is intensely passionate,passionate about life and the people in his life and Sky finds herself wanting that same passionate spark in her own life. And so they fall in live. And then fall in love.

Holder was a broken, swoon-worthy, boy with a bad reputation who was hopeless but was always looking for Hope. He was thoughtful and contemplative and intense and passionate in everything he did or said. Basically I would describe him as a mystery wrapped in an enigma! With Sky, he was always fiercely protective and was nothing but kind and loving towards her. After all, he was searching for her his whole life!

Sky was a beautiful, strong girl who taught herself how to survive and learned from Holder how to live. But she also she learned from this boy, that she believed was hopeless, that he was the only one who could help her find Hope again.

There was such a beautiful connection between the two characters from the second they met. I loved their best first kiss in the history of first kisses—without even kissing, I loved the conversations that they had, whether they were deep and soul wrenching or fun and witty, and I loved the sadness, the live, and the Hope that they shared.

From the start, you could tell that things in Sky’s life didn’t add up and the same was the case with Holder. As they began to get to know each other, he would always say or do things that filled my head with questions! And so as their story continued, lies and truths were revealed and love was tested. Not just between Holder and Sky, but between father and daughter and mother and daughter and between a young girl and a young hopeless boy. This whole story made me feel every emotion humanly possible. It was a story of loss, sorrow, deceit, devastation, live, love, and Hope.

The ending!? I don’t even know if there are words to describe how flawless the ending was! It literally took my breath away and stopped my heart! I couldn’t stop smiling and rereading it! Oh and the title? I love how Hoover worked it perfectly into the story! She is just so incredibly creative and clever in every aspect of her writing! It’s my favorite thing about her books!

Just a few more things I loved about this book: stargazing, Dinner Quest, pinky holding, firsts and forevers, and no happily ever afters! ; )

So with all that being said, drop everything you may be currently reading AND READ THIS BOOK NOW!

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

