Vain by Fisher Amelie

18 Jan

ImageTitle: Vain

Author: Fisher Amelie

Published: December 2012

Pages: ebook

If you’re looking for a story about a good, humble girl, who’s been hurt by someone she thought she could trust, only to find out she’s not as vulnerable as she thought she was and discovers an empowering side of herself that falls in love with the guy who helps her find that self, blah, blah, blah…then you’re gonna’ hate my story.

Because mine is not the story you read every time you bend back the cover of the latest trend novel. It’s not the “I can do anything, now that I’ve found you/I’m misunderstood but one day you’ll find me irresistible because of it” tale. Why? Because, if I was being honest with you, I’m a complete witch. There’s nothing redeeming about me. I’m a friend using, drug abusing, sex addict from Los Angeles. I’m every girlfriend’s worst nightmare and every boy’s fantasy.

I’m Sophie Price…And this is the story about how I went from the world’s most envied girl to the girl no one wanted around and why I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.

My Rating: 5 stars!

My Thoughts:

Sophie Price is vain. She’s a conceited. She’s the ruler of her wealthy, elite L.A. posse. And she needs a wake up call.

After getting caught using drugs for a second time, Sophie Price doesn’t get sentenced to jail time. Nope, she gets sentenced to six months at a Ugandan orphanage. She has to leave behind her rich, glamorous lifestyle that her cold indifferent parents have provided her as long as she keeps up appearances. Sophie Price has no idea what’s in store for her.

Sick of herself and of the life that she has made for herself, Sophie quickly learns from the African children how to love and appreciate life. She learns so much so quickly from these small children who have so little and who have every reason to be unhappy but instead they are overflowing with love and acceptance!

Then there was the boy. Dingane (aka Ian). He was a selfless young man who knew more about Sophie’s situation than she expected. They certainly didn’t get along at first, but as Sophie slowly transformed her heart, he saw the beauty in her rather than her appearance which she had come to believe was the only thing that mattered. He helped her to find herself and made her love the little things in life and he also taught her that if she had respect for herself than she would easily gain other people’s respect.

This was such an incredible, touching, heartwarming story about appreciating life and about the consequences of ignorance. I feel that this book teaches such important lessons about life and it opens eyes to issues in the world and also in our own hearts. I loved every second of this breathtaking story and loved what it taught me personally!

Everyone should read this story and take away its message while enjoying an amazing romance! This truly is like no other story I have ever read!

2 Responses to “Vain by Fisher Amelie”

  1. laekanzeakemp January 20, 2013 at 10:36 pm #

    Hey!! I’ve nominated you for the Liebster award. Check out more info on my blog here: http://laekanzeakemp.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/liebster-award/

    • somethingaboutabook January 23, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

      Thanks so much!!! This is awesome and I can’t wait to do it!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

