The Selection by Kiera Cass

15 Feb

ImageTitle: The Selection

Author: Kiera Cass

Publisher: HarperTeen

Published: April 2012

Pages: 327

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

My Rating: 4 Stars

My Thoughts:

Thirty-five girls and one handsome bachelor in a futuristic America makes for quite a unique dystopia! What I heard about this book before I read it was that it was a mix between The Hunger Games and The Bachelor, and I would have to agree with this description. It’s a futuristic televised competition of a charming prince trying to find true love.

America does not want to be part of the Selection and at first refuses to even enter but in a turn of events, she enters and ends up being chosen. So she leaves behind her family and the boy she loves, to go live in the rich, grand palace. When she gets there, she plans on despising a self-centered prince she’s dreamed up but instead she gets a polite, charming Prince Maxon. She really doesn’t want to like him but there is no way that she could help herself!

The worst and best part about this story is the love triangle. I normally hate them because there is always one guy that I’m really rooting for, and I was in this one, but it was hard for me to decide at first. At the beginning I loved Aspen! He’s the boy who America fell deeply in love with over the years and hoped to marry. He was sweet and kind and always tried to do what was best for America, even though sometimes it hurt them both. But then later you meet Prince Maxon and man did I fall even more in love with him! He was the perfect gentleman who was always charming and sweet but was also very innocent and naïve. So although it was a toss-up at first, I must say I’m definitely Team Maxon!

This whole story was unique and fun and was very well written. The girls always kept it entertaining because a lot of times it reminded me of high school drama and pettiness so I had a few laughs! I knew what was going to happen at the end with the narrowing of the Selection but it was still very nerve-racking!

I can’t wait for the next book of this series to see who else will get eliminated and who will stay and I’ll also rooting for America and Maxon to get together!

2 Responses to “The Selection by Kiera Cass”

  1. Oksana February 16, 2013 at 4:12 am #

    Thanks for your review! I wanted to read this book for a long time, and it’s great that you described it so interestingly. I’m also very tired of love triangles, so that will probably be the downside for me, too. Still it’s better to read and and to know, than guessing! 🙂

    • somethingaboutabook February 17, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

      Haha true! But believe me, as far as love triangles go, this one was a least a little more original!

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

