Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock

26 Feb

ImageTitle: Hemlock

Author: Kathleen Peacock

Publisher: Katherine Tegan Books

Published: May 2012

Pages: 416

Goodreads Summary:

Mackenzie and Amy were best friends. Until Amy was brutally murdered.

Since then, Mac’s life has been turned upside down. She is being haunted by Amy in her dreams, and an extremist group called the Trackers has come to Mac’s hometown of Hemlock to hunt down Amy’s killer:

A white werewolf.

Lupine syndrome–also known as the werewolf virus–is on the rise across the country. Many of the infected try to hide their symptoms, but bloodlust is not easy to control.

Wanting desperately to put an end to her nightmares, Mac decides to investigate Amy’s murder herself. She discovers secrets lurking in the shadows of Hemlock, secrets about Amy’s boyfriend, Jason, her good pal Kyle, and especially her late best friend. Mac is thrown into a maelstrom of violence and betrayal that puts her life at risk.

Kathleen Peacock’s thrilling novel is the first in the Hemlock trilogy, a spellbinding urban fantasy series filled with provocative questions about prejudice, trust, lies, and love.

My Rating: 4 stars

My Thoughts:

There have been quite a lot of werewolf books over the past few years and I haven’t been too much of a fan of any of them. I mean, I enjoyed them enough but I feel like they were all pretty much alike. The thing about this book was it had a unique twist: the werewolves are out and everyone knows it.

In this story Lupine syndrome is an epidemic that is spreading throughout the world and measures are being taken in order to contain the people that have it. In the small town of Hemlock there have been quite a few attacks and one in particular affected the lives of three young adults in the town. Mackenzie (“Mac”), Kyle, Amy, and Jason were all best friends until Amy was the victim of one of the attacks. Now Jason is looking for revenge by joining the ruthless Trackers, who stop at nothing to hunt down people who have been infected, and Mac and Kyle take other measures to find out the whole truth about her death.

I definitely have to say that I like Mac’s character best in this story. She was always levelheaded and independent and she never needed Kyle or Jason to solve her problems, but instead took charge and got things done on her own. That being said, I stilled loved both Kyle and Jason and I loved that they were complete opposites but still but were still best friends. Kyle was caring and protective towards Mac but never babied her and Jason was kind of a jerk at first but was really just grief-stricken and sweet underneath it all. Mac and I definitely have our favorite but you can make your own choice!

I loved the fast pace and mystery of this story. It was captivating and very well written with a good amount of action and romance mixed in as well. As the story progressed I often found myself trying to piece everything together and figure out what was going to happen but I got to say that I never expected the twist that it took! Like I said before the plot was unique and I think that the author did an awesome job at taking a concept that has been used so often and changing it up a bit.

This story was written with a new perspective when it came to the werewolf genre and was anything but predictable! A definite must read!

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

