Waiting for You by Shey Stahl

8 Mar

ImageTitle: Waiting for You

Author: Shey Stahl

Published: February 2012

Pages: 292

Bailey Gray is tired of her perfectly planned life. Everything about her life has been organized and lived out to the expectations set of her parents. She is the class valedictorian, has perfect grades, the perfect friends, a perfect boyfriend, basically perfect life…or so everyone thought. That’s when she realizes the path planned isn’t always the path chosen.

On graduation day she makes a decision. One that changes everything she thought she knew about her intended future.

On a whim, she runs away with the town rebel, Dylan Wade, in search of the unknown.

Dylan Wade isn’t looking to run away from anything.

He knows what he wants as he’s been waiting on it for years.

On a journey to find the unknown, they discover a friendship they once knew along the open highway and have not a care in the world. Between the yellow and white lines of the heated summer asphalt, a spark draws them together as Dylan’s past and Bailey future try to ripe them apart.

Could it be that Dylan and his GTO are exactly what her perfectly planned life needs?

My Rating: 2 stars

My Thoughts:

I really wanted to like this book but I have to admit that it definitely fell short in my opinion. I’m a fan of stories that have road trips in them because they’re always fun and adventurous and this one started out this way but I felt that it was ruined by the characters after a while.

Her whole life Bailey has been told what to do so when Dylan Wade, the town bad boy and her crush since she was three, asks her to leave with him she jumps at the opportunity. At first its fun and adventurous and it’s really about Bailey and Dylan living life to its fullest instead of being tied down and hinder by what is expected of them. But Bailey wanted to “find herself” on her own terms rather than her parent’s and I think this is where the story went a little wrong.

I felt that the whole time Bailey had this image in her head of how she was supposed to be “herself.” She thought that doing anything crazy or out right ridiculous constituted as finding herself, but really she just had a contorted wish to be some out of control “bad girl.” She had to try drugs and get a tattoo and do some slutty stuff. I just felt it was hard to believe and also annoying because it just made her character seem immature and naïve. She also had a lot of indecision issues and her inner monologues were always contradictory. At first it was fine and not that bad, I liked her even, but at about half way it just got annoying.

Now on the other hand, there was Dylan. Him I liked just fine. From the beginning I knew where he stood and he wasn’t always changing his mind and trying to fit the “bad boy” image. He lost his mom as a kid and turned to bad habits to grieve, making him a believable bad boy. The only thing that I didn’t like about Dylan was near the end he showed a little bit of a temper that seemed misplaced and unhealthy which bled into his and Bailey’s relationship. This lead to some other stuff that just stood out to me as unhealthy and out of character.

Also the big twist at the end seemed kind of anticlimactic. Yea, I knew there was a big secret and when it got out Bailey had every right to feel the way she did, but I still felt that the way she handled the situation with Dylan was a little dramatic. I must say though that I did really like the very end of the story. I felt that both characters had grown up a bit and so the way things ended was kind of a perfect HEA.

Overall, it started out good and sweet with the whole idea of them being in love when they were little kids and I had high expectations, but after getting to know Bailey more, I got annoyed with her actions and contradictory behavior. It just seemed like there was a lot of inconsistency with the characters and sometimes even the plot.

Like I said before, I really, really wanted to love this story but it was definitely lacking in the character department.

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

