Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger

10 Mar

ImageTitle: Let the Sky Fall

Author: Shannon Messenger

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Published: March 2013

Pages: 416

Goodreads Summary:

Seventeen-year-old Vane Weston has no idea how he survived the category five tornado that killed his parents. And he has no idea if the beautiful, dark-haired girl who’s swept through his dreams every night since the storm is real. But he hopes she is.

Seventeen-year-old Audra is a sylph, an air elemental. She walks on the wind, can translate its alluring songs, and can even coax it into a weapon with a simple string of commands. She’s also a guardian—Vane’s guardian—and has sworn an oath to protect Vane at all costs. Even if it means sacrificing her own life.

When a hasty mistake reveals their location to the enemy who murdered both of their families, Audra’s forced to help Vane remember who he is. He has a power to claim—the secret language of the West Wind, which only he can understand. But unlocking his heritage will also unlock the memory Audra needs him to forget. And their greatest danger is not the warriors coming to destroy them—but the forbidden romance that’s grown between them.

My Rating: 5 Stars

Dream Cast: Let the Sky Fall Dream Cast

My Thoughts:

I started this book at one in the morning right after I had finished reading a different book that had annoyed me to no ends. I didn’t want to go to sleep with that story in my head and so I started Let the Sky Fall and it had me staying up to the early hours of the morning. I kept saying to myself “Just one more chapter!” but I couldn’t put it down! The characters were great, the concept was fascinating, and the plot was captivating!

Now if you have ever heard of the TV show Avatar: The Last Airbender and if you loved it as much as me, then I think you would enjoy this book because they’re somewhat similar. Windwalking is kind of like the concept of “Airbending” in the TV show. In this story the four different winds, Northerlies, Southerlies, Easterlies, and Westerlies make up the four different types of Windwalkers. Vane is the last Westerly and is the only person who has a chance of having the power of the four winds but there are people who will do anything to make Vane tell them the language of the Westerlies in order to use it to take control. The concept was unique and intricate and caught my attention from just reading the blurb!

This story alternates between both Vane and Audra’s POV which I wasn’t expecting but loved all the same! For having to take on so much responsibility that he was never aware of, Vane was a strong brave character that really stepped up to the plate. Not to mention he was so caring, kind, and loving towards Audra at all times and was strong for her whenever she was at her weakest. Audra was a just as strong character but she had a fierceness and determination to her that I loved. She had so much resting on her shoulders but she bore it with fortitude that I truly admired. Their romance was of the forbidden type which made it all the more exciting and beautiful!

I certainly did not expect the story to take the turn that it did at the end, but it was executed perfectly by the author by not giving anything away and by making it believable! The author had an amazing way of weaving this story together filling it with excitement, romance, action, and originality!

This was a great start to a new series and I cannot wait to get my hands on the next!

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

