Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols

15 Mar

ImageTitle: Such a Rush

Author: Jennifer Echols

Publisher: MTV Books

Published: July 2012

Pages: 336

Goodreads Summary:

When I was fourteen, I made a decision. If I was doomed to live in a trailer park next to an airport, I could complain about the smell of the jet fuel like my mom, I could drink myself to death over the noise like everybody else, or I could learn to fly.

Heaven Beach, South Carolina, is anything but, if you live at the low-rent end of town. All her life, Leah Jones has been the grown-up in her family, while her mother moves from boyfriend to boyfriend, letting any available money slip out of her hands. At school, they may diss Leah as trash, but she’s the one who negotiates with the landlord when the rent’s not paid. At fourteen, she’s the one who gets a job at the nearby airstrip.

But there’s one way Leah can escape reality. Saving every penny she can, she begs quiet Mr. Hall, who runs an aerial banner-advertising business at the airstrip and also offers flight lessons, to take her up just once. Leaving the trailer park far beneath her and swooping out over the sea is a rush greater than anything she’s ever experienced, and when Mr. Hall offers to give her cut-rate flight lessons, she feels ready to touch the sky.

By the time she’s a high school senior, Leah has become a good enough pilot that Mr. Hall offers her a job flying a banner plane. It seems like a dream come true . . . but turns out to be just as fleeting as any dream. Mr. Hall dies suddenly, leaving everything he owned in the hands of his teenage sons: golden boy Alec and adrenaline junkie Grayson. And they’re determined to keep the banner planes flying.

Though Leah has crushed on Grayson for years, she’s leery of getting involved in what now seems like a doomed business—until Grayson betrays her by digging up her most damning secret. Holding it over her head, he forces her to fly for secret reasons of his own, reasons involving Alec. Now Leah finds herself drawn into a battle between brothers—and the consequences could be deadly.

My Rating: 3.5

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this book and it was a fun read but it wasn’t a favorite. The plot was exciting and I loved the characters for the most part but every once in a whole they did something that just annoyed me.

Leah made a kick*** pilot instead of a damsel in distress and I felt like she broke the mold for the typical female character. Don’t get me wrong, I love the whole good-girls-falls-for-the-bad-boy plot but this was refreshing. She grew up in a crappy home and her mother didn’t care for her a day in her life, so she picked up some bad habits along the way. When Mr. Hall, the owner of the a small-town airport, agrees to give her flying lesson when she’s fourteen she promises to stop those habits but she never stops being tough and making a life on her own.

There were often times in the story where people believed that she was a “whore” or “trash” because she was poor and lived in a trailer park. Although most of the time Leah really stuck it to people and stuck up for herself there were a few times in the story where she just let people treat her a certain way without fighting back so I felt that this was an inconsistency with her character. I found myself wanted to scream at her to stop letting people treat her that way!

Grayson was the swoon-worthy, brooding Hall brother that I loved but even he sometimes said rude things to Leah. He definitely made up for it throughout the story because he had a good reason for his actions but I wish that Leah had called him out more on it rather then letting him get away with saying what ever he wanted.

I think I may have made Grayson sound worse then he was because he really was a good character. He loved his family and Leah and just wanted to protect them at whatever cost even if his ways weren’t always the best. There was also his twin brother Alec. He played a pretty important part in this story but he was just an okay character. I didn’t feel connected with him like I did Leah and Grayson.

I really loved that this book was all about flying because it’s something that definitely held my interest. I’ve never flown anywhere before, so it was interesting to learn some different stuff about it and it also made me want to take up flying! Although that may be a problem since I don’t like heights… 

In the end, this wasn’t my favorite but it was definitely an exciting, enjoyable read! 

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

