Trying Not To Love You by Megan Smith

7 Jun

ImageTitle: Trying Not To Love You

Author: Megan Smith

Published: May 2013

Pages: ebook

Goodreads Summary:

MacKenzie Cahill has dealt with overbearing and overprotective brothers her entire life, making it near impossible to enjoy her teenage years. Having a boyfriend was practically impossible until she met a guy that wasn’t afraid to stand up to them – Dominic. He was sweet, thoughtful, and everything MacKenzie ever wanted in a man.

But when they go away to college at Old Dominion University, MacKenzie sees a whole new side of Dominic and begins to wonder if he really is different from every other guy.

Her world is turned upside down after a party, and her brothers’ best friend Hunter is the one there to offer her a shoulder to cry on. The chemistry between them is electric, and feelings for each other that have been hidden for years are finally voiced.

Is Hunter willing to be disloyal to his best friends in order to be with the one girl he’s always secretly wanted?

My Rating: 4 stars

 My Thoughts:

Let me just say this now because I just finished this book but MAJOR CLIFFHANGER ALERT and I mean like in the last three pages a huge bomb is dropped. The wait for the next one is going to be excruciating!

Ok, now, with that being said, this book was pretty great. I wouldn’t call it a favorite but it was an awesome, sweet romance with characters that I loved and could easily relate too. In fact being able to relate to Mackenzie is the whole reason that I loved this book so much.

Kenzie always had her three older brothers Mason, Cooper, and Jackson to protect her and look out for her. Similarly, I have two older brothers and they are two of my best friends and I know that they would do anything to protect and watch out for me. I could easily relate to her relationship her brothers because it was so similar to how I am with mine. Also, all of Kenzie’s family is so close and everyone loves and cares for each other no matter what happens, which again is just like mine. When books have characters like this, that I can so easily feel connected to, it’s impossible for me not to like them.

But Kenzie didn’t only have her brothers but also Mason and Cooper’s best friend from when they were kids: Hunter. Man oh man did I love Hunter. He was so incredibly sweet to Kenzie and you could tell that he had loved her since they were kids just like Kenzie loved him. He protected her just like her brothers but there was always sweet underlying actions that just screamed he loved her more than as family although it was that family, Kenzie’s protective brothers, that stood in the way.

It was frustrating and sad to see them struggle with their relationship together and with the brothers. They were perfect for each other in every way but although Hunter was a brother to Mason, Cooper, and Jackson, they had a hard time letting their baby sister go. Really I just wanted everyone to be happy! In the end I got what I wanted…except for the dreaded cliffhanger. : (

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

