Firelight by Sophie Jordan

21 Jun

ImageTitle: Firelight

Author: Sophie Jordan

Published: September 2010

Publisher: Harper Teen

Pages: 326

Goodreads Summery:

A hidden truth. 
Mortal enemies. 
Doomed love.

Marked as special at an early age, Jacinda knows her every move is watched. But she longs for freedom to make her own choices. When she breaks the most sacred tenet among her kind, she nearly pays with her life. Until a beautiful stranger saves her. A stranger who was sent to hunt those like her. For Jacinda is a draki, a descendant of dragons whose greatest defense is her secret ability to shift into human form.

Forced to flee into the mortal world with her family, Jacinda struggles to adapt to her new surroundings. The only bright light is Will. Gorgeous, elusive Will who stirs her inner draki to life. Although she is irresistibly drawn to him, Jacinda knows Will’s dark secret: He and his family are hunters. She should avoid him at all costs. But her inner draki is slowly slipping away;if it dies she will be left as a human forever. She’ll do anything to prevent that. Even if it means getting closer to her most dangerous enemy.

Mythical powers and breathtaking romance ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide.

My Rating: 3.5 Stars

My Thoughts:

I liked this book. I really did, but there were definitely some issues that annoyed me to no end. I’ll start with the good stuff first.

I loved the whole drake/dragon plot that the author wrote. I had never read a book that had any dragons in it besides Harry Potter and that hardly counts. In this a whole world was created that held a group of people that descended from dragons. It was fascinating and exciting to read this kind of story that was unique to me! Plus it was written flawlessly with a fast paced plot that gripped my attention from beginning to end.

Another winning factor if this book was Will and Jacinda. I know its cliché but I’m a sucker for the whole forbidden love plot line and that’s exactly what this was. Will was from a family that hunted the draki and Jacinda was a draki herself. The chemistry that was between the characters was sweet and I loved how they had a connection from the first time they meet and Will protected Jacinda’s life, unknowingly in a way. The connection only grew when again they meet although it took some back-and-forth for them both to see that they were what was best for each other.

Now what I didn’t like was that back-and-forth that I just mentioned and also Jacinda’s annoying family. Normally I don’t mind a little indecision but in this book I think the main characters changed their minds one or five too many times. In the end though, I could get past this because they did finally make up their minds. Now Jacinda’s mom and her twin sister Tamra I just found down right annoying. I really liked Jacinda and was able to emphasize with her so I often wanted someone to slap her mom and sister across the face for being so whiny and selfish. Yea, Jacinda was too ever once and while but not nearly the degree of the other two. Honestly, I could have done without either of their characters in this book.

So in the end, what’s my verdict? I say definitely give this book a try because both the fantastically written plot and the romance outweighs the indecision and annoying mother and sister. 

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

