Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover

12 Jul

ImageTitle: Losing Hope

Author: Colleen Hoover

Published: July 2013

Publisher: Atria Books

Pages: 336 (ebook)

Goodreads Summary:

In Hopeless, Sky left no secret unearthed, no feeling unshared, and no memory forgotten, but Holder’s past remained a mystery.

Still haunted by the little girl he let walk away, Holder has spent his entire life searching for her in an attempt to finally rid himself of the crushing guilt he has felt for years. But he could not have anticipated that the moment they reconnect, even greater remorse would overwhelm him…

Sometimes in life, if we wish to move forward, we must first dig deep into our past and make amends. In Losing Hope, bestselling author Colleen Hoover reveals what was going on inside Holder’s head during all those hopeless moments—and whether he can gain the peace he desperately needs.

My Rating: 5+ stars

Dream Cast: Hopeless Dream Cast

My Thoughts:

“I wonder if it’s possible for people to fall in love with a person one characteristic at a time, or if you fall for the entire person at once.” 

Breathe in. Breathe out. Phew…this book literally left me catching my breath, especially with that ending. I didn’t live this story this time. I loved it!

Ok, so I read Hopeless and that book I lived.  When I started reading tis book, I thought to myself it’s just a different POV so it’s the same story and yea I’ll like it just as much as the first, but man was I wrong! This book was as amazing as Hopeless and more. Everything was so new that I felt like I had never even read Hopeless. At the same time, the two stories fit together flawlessly! I knew this plot already and the fact the Colleen Hoover was able to make into a whole other spectacular story is amiable. She has a real talent for bringing to life her writing and her characters and I’m ecstatic she chose to bring this story back to life again.

If you loved Hopeless then there is no way you wouldn’t love this story. You already love Sky and know how strong of character she is. She survived hell but she came out on top with her head held high. And then there is Holder, who I loved the second I read about him in Hopeless, but it doesn’t even compare to how much I loved him in this book. I felt all of his pain that he had over losing Hope when they were little kids and also when he lost is twin, Lesslie. He had such a big heart and loved immensely but he felt responsible for two of the greatest losses in his life. It was heartbreaking. But when he meets Sky, he has hope again and even though he doesn’t know for sure that she is his Hope, he falls in love with her all the same and it is beautiful.

Oh and that ending! Jeez I can’t stop thinking about it! I got to say, I thought I knew everything that could happen, but with one little letter at the end of the story I was left breathless. It was so incredibly bittersweet (more sweet though) and there is no better way that this book could have end. It even had me crying partially happy and partially sad tears because it was that perfect. It was painful and sorrowful but in my opinion it brought closure to this story the Hopeless was lacking although I didn’t know it until now. Everything. Was. Flawless.

Again, I just want to rave a little more about how much I love Colleen Hoover’s writing because it truly is out of this world. Everything about her character development and writing style is creative, witty, and intelligent but most of all its poetic. I mean who comes up with something like “I live you” and makes it work?! To be honest, I would be fine with just reading her books for the rest of my life because there is so much depth and feeling and heart written into all her characters and stories and I can’t get enough!

All I have left to say is bring on the next book Ms. Hoover!

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

