Scars and Songs by Christine Zolendz

3 Aug

ImageTitle: Scars and Songs

Author: Christine Zolendz

Published: June 2013

Pages: 461 (ebook)

Goodreads Summary:

Shane Maxton is front man for New York City’s popular rock band, Mad World. But he has secrets; he’s not what everybody thinks he is.
He comes from an ancient world, from a different time, when angels walked among men.
Read the story, through Shane’s eyes, of his forbidden love, his fall from grace and his inner turmoil from living with the irrational emotions of being human.

My Rating: 5 stars

My Thoughts:

So this is going to be fairly short because I assume if you read this book then you have also already read Fall From Grace and Saving Grace, which is the same story but told in Grace’s POV.

I was really excited when I saw this book because I absolutely love when authors retell their stories from the other character’s POV. It creates so much more depth and understanding to the characters, especially Shane’s. He was a really complicated guy and in the first two books and I was constantly frustrated with him because I didn’t know what he was thinking but in this book I finally understood all of his actions and thoughts behind them. I loved Shane before but after this book I connected with him and sympathized with him on a level that I hadn’t before.

If you haven’t read any of these books yet then I’m telling you now that you definitely should! The best thing about them is that the main plot is the contemporary romance and the character relationships but then the paranormal aspect is woven into it subtly and flawlessly. In my opinion its damn near the perfect recipe for a story’s plot! : )

Leave a Reply

Assemblage of Books

"I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear." - Mara Dyer, The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Bring More Books

It's all about books!

Teen Blurb

Young Adult Book Reviews

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

This Blonde Reads

Reader. Reviewer. Book Addict.

